ASSEMBLE: Winner of the Turner Prize 2015

The Turner Prize is a contemporary art award that was set up in 1984 to celebrate new developments in contemporary art. The prize is awarded to an artist under fifty, born, living or working in Britain, for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation in the twelve months. Nominations are invited each year, and the prize is judged by an independent jury that changes annually.

The four artists who have been shortlisted for the Turner Prize 2015 are (in alphabetical order): Assemble (winner 2015), Bonnie Camplin, Janice Kerbel and Nicole Wermers.

This year the exhibition will be held at Tramway, Glasgow, a leading international art-space. This is the first time the Turner Prize has been held in Scotland. An exhibition of work by the four shortlisted artists is running until 17 January 2016 at Tramway, Glasgow.

The members of the Turner Prize 2015 jury are Alistair Hudson, Director, Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art; Kyla McDonald, Artistic Director, Glasgow Sculpture Studios; Joanna Mytkowska, Director, Museum Sztuki Nowoczesnej; and Jan Verwoert, critic and curator. The jury is chaired by Penelope Curtis, Director, Tate Britain.

This year winner is Assemble, for projects including the ongoing collaboration with local residents and others in the Granby Four Streets, Liverpool. Assemble are a London-based collective who work across the fields of art, design and architecture to create projects in tandem with the communities who use and inhabit them. Their architectural spaces and environments promote direct action and embrace a DIY sensibility.

Find a list of the precedent awards here:

Turner Prize 2014

Tuner Prize 2013

Turner Prize 2012

Turner Prize 2011

Tuner Prize 2010

Turner Prize 2009

Turner Prize 2008

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *